What Are Your 2016 Reading Goals?

In an effort to build a sense of community here on my little blog, and start some valuable bookish conversations, I’d like to begin a series of reader questions. The Book Riot YouTube Channel puts out videos of reader questions, and I always love watching them. So, that’s probably what inspired me to start my own series here. Feel free to check out my 2016 Reading Goals and comment with your own.

cropped-bookshelf-cover-photo.jpg

It’s officially December. Fourth quarter madness is well underway at my office job, Christmas presents have been purchased, and resolutions have been made. I’m not sure how it’s already the end of 2015, but I’m curious–What are your 2016 Reading Goals? Here are a couple of mine:

Further Explore the Gothic Horror Genre

I’ve always shied away from horror fiction because I detest scary things… or at least, I thought I did. But this year, I read two classic horror novels–The Turn of the Screw by Henry James and Dracula by Bram Stoker–and they’ve both ended up being a couple of my favorite books so far this year. I hope to read at least a few gothic horror novels in 2016. Here’s what’s on my TBR (I’m also planning to read Ann Radcliffe’s The Mysteries of Udolpho before Northanger Abbey, I just don’t own it yet).

_DSC0142

Tackle Some of the Unread Books on my Shelf

I have an embarrassing number of books on my shelf that I haven’t read–or that I’ve attempted to read and given up on. Most of these are classics and modern fiction that I’ve picked up for pocket change at library book sales and used book stores. It usually doesn’t bother me to own books I haven’t read, but my book shelf is currently stacked to capacity (and books have made their way to my desk, bedside, and floor as a result). My goal is to read some of these books so that I can decide if they need to have a space on my bookshelf or not–it’s valuable real estate!

_DSC0141

Visit Prairie Lights Bookstore in Iowa City

I guess this is more of generalized “bookish” goal than an actual reading goal, but bare with me. My boyfriend and I nearly took a road trip to Iowa City this past summer, but opted for a shorter trip instead. I’m really hoping we can squeeze it into a long weekend sometime in 2016. Any bookstore that takes up 3.5 floors sounds like a perfect place for me to get lost.

Those are just a couple of my broader reading goals for the coming year.

 

What are your 2016 Reading Goals? Are there certain books you’ve been meaning to read? Authors you want to check out? Bookish destinations you want to travel to? Let me know in the comments! 

2 thoughts on “What Are Your 2016 Reading Goals?

Leave a Reply

