_DSC0129

Sci-fi! Fantasy! Comics!

September was a fairly leisurely reading month for me, as I continued to step outside of my comfort zone into the literary world of sci-fi and fantasy. I finished rereading the Harry Potter series, enjoyed a good comic, and got my first taste of the fiction of Robin Hobb. Let’s dig in!

_DSC0134

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince and Harry Potter and the Deathly Hollows by J.K. Rowling

I’ve been (re)reading the Harry Potter series since August 1, and finished the seventh and final book on October 1. It took me exactly 2 months to read through the series, and although I enjoyed it immensely, I’m also very happy to be done. The last two books in the series are particularly dark, and I had forgotten much of what happens. I was surprised by how much I enjoyed these children’s books as an adult, and by what things I picked up on that weren’t apparent to me years ago. I’ll bore you guys with the details in a post later this week titled “The Magic of Rereading the Harry Potter Series as an Adult.” Stay tuned.

_DSC0131

Alex + Ada by Jonathan Luna and Sarah Vaughn

I’ve been indulging in many of the recent futuristic movies that question the role A.I. may have on the future (Her, Ex Machina). I had heard great things about this comic and had high hopes for it. Overall, this is an enjoyable story so far, set in the near-future when non-sentient robots roam the earth side-by-side with humans. The story focuses in on Alex, a heartbroken, borderline depressed twenty-something who is skeptical of the the A.I.s that have become such an integral part of his society. When his grandmother (a raunchy, hilarious woman) buys him an attractive A.I. for his birthday, he nearly returns her. His decision to keep her around and discover her full potential is the basis of the futuristic love story. I plan on continuing with Volume 2.

_DSC0133

Dragon Keeper by Robin Hobb

I absolutely loved this high fantasy novel about underdeveloped dragons and their human keepers. This is an adventure story as much as anything else, but I was shocked by how much this centered around human relationships. This is the very first high fantasy adult novel I’ve ever read, and it’s got me mighty excited to make repeat trips to the sci-fi/fantasy aisle.

What did you read last month?

 

