I Don’t Like My Smartphone, and I Don’t Like Yours Either

I got my first smart phone (an iPhone, ugh, whywhywhy) a few months ago, and only made the transition from a generic brand Blackberry (which I called my Razzberry) because it was actually cheaper for me to break down and get a fancy internet/robot phone.

I thought it would be nice to have a GPS with me at all times (but I still just use Mapquest on a desktop computer and copy down the directions onto a sticky note before traveling), and to be able to Tweet on the go (but I still do all my Tweeting from a desktop computer when I am rooted at home). I guess I’m old-fashioned. Or, just, like, old.

I actually don’t like my smartphone at all, and I admit that it’s probably because I don’t bother taking advantage of all its hip features. I use it to text, call, and occasionally check my Facebook wall. That’s it. But I don’t just dislike my smartphone… I dislike yours too. You (and I’m generalizing, sorry) look at it too much. You take it on bike rides and whip it out every time you pull over for a water break. You take photos of your dinner and then share them with the world. You text while I’m talking to you. You watch fireworks through your phone’s video camera instead of with your own eyes. You freak out any time your phone isn’t in plain site. In short, you’re obsessed. And this should not bother me… But it does.

Maybe I just don’t get it. I’m a loner. I rarely get texts. Facebook notifications are far and few between. I don’t post selfies to the web, or use Instagram. My web presence is nothing impressive. But what is it that causes you to be so obsessed with your phone? Why are you afraid to leave it behind for even an hour?

And honestly, why do I even care? I think that social media and texting allows us to stay connected with those who are geographically distant from us. We can learn about people we’d never get to know otherwise. This is great. But isn’t it equally important to be able to just enjoy ourselves?

Isn’t it crucial that we allow ourselves to be alone at times? That we get off Twitter and talk to real birds instead? I live for moments when I’m away from the noise of the world. I love the weekends I spend unplugged. It’s important to be social and embrace the world around us, social media and all, but it’s crucial that we take time to ourselves… And to cherish the moments of being with someone face to face, and not just on FaceTime.

Louis C.K. gets it.

Leave a Reply

