Why buy a Moleskine when napkins exist?

The cool thing about having writing as a passion is that you can do it for FREE. As long as you have some sort of writing instrument (ink, charcoal, blood?), you can write till you totally deplete your imagination (which will be never). The world is full of things to write on… Receipts, napkins, skin, etcetcetcetcetc.

So, then, why on earth do I spend twenty bucks  each on extra large, soft cover, blank page Moleskine notebooks? Is it so that I can look like a snobby Ann Arborite next to my composition book-toting peers? [No]. Is it so that I can trick myself into only writing high quality poems that are worthy of the over-priced notebook? [No, and also it wouldn’t work anyway].

The thing is, I don’t know why, but it just feels… right to keep writing in the same notebook. It’s familiar. It’s comfortable. It has a nice weight to it. The soft cover bends in a way that feels like a hug when I hold it against my chest (I need more friends). Opening up my black notebook during lunch breaks and in my evenings after work is a ritual. It’s part of my routine. And for me, it works. Typing into a Word doc or writing on a loose leaf of paper just isn’t the same. And although I feel a bit snobbish paying for a notebook when I could easily use the back of my hand, I will say that filling up a journal has it’s merits, and buying a brand new one always presents itself to me like a challenge.

I think there are some definite benefits to finding materials that work well for you. And the more comfortable you are while writing, the longer you’re likely to write. Find what works, and do it.

 

Leave a Reply

