I write everyday, but some days are harder than others. Some days I find myself churning out pages of inspired poetry… Other days I struggle to complete a single prompt. And still other days I barely write more than a journal entry. It’s a very novice writing life, and I sometimes get discouraged with myself, especially when I churn out pages and pages of overly personal poetry (it happens, okay). But I keep on writing. Even when my writing is trash, I keep going, and eventually I get out of my slump.

The act of writing poetry is often cathartic, and I find that my productivity increases when I’m feeling particularly emotional or “down.” I occasionally get into writing slumps. Sometimes I’m simply uninspired. There are days when I don’t feel like writing at all. And you know what? That’s okay …If you discipline yourself. Writing is work. Our passions are work. On those days when I don’t want to write, there are a few things I do to get the ink flowing:

  • Free Writing: When I’m feeling totally uninspired, I find free writing exercises to be of tremendous benefit. Set a timer for 15 or 20 minutes, grab a typewriter or reliable pen and paper, and just start writing. Don’t think about it. Just let your thoughts go and write out everything that comes to mind. Don’t be judgmental of your work. Just write. Look back at it in a couple of days. The noise in your mind may actually inspire some great writing.
  • Pick a Prompt: There are times when I tend to get a bit obsessed with a particular aspect of my life, and devote all of my creative energy to that one thing (ie. during my last semester of college, I was so emotional/stressed/anxious that nearly all of my poems hinted at my anxiety for the forthcoming change). Focusing on prompts is a great way to force yourself out of the bubble and into new territory.
  • Dear Diary… On those days when I simply can’t bring myself to write or revise a poem, I grab an old journal from my book shelf and just start scribbling. I find that just forcing myself into the act of writing can be beneficial, even if the subject matter is completely worthless. The following excerpt is from Feb. 8, 2012, for your reference: “Spring break is less than a month away. It would be cool if summer was less than a month away. But I shouldn’t wish time away. Away away away.” Yay, trash! But still, it’s writing. Total garbage writing… but writing.

The thing is, if you want to write good poetry, then by all means, just write when you’re feeling inspired. But if you want to write great poetry (I do!), then you need to do the work. It’s as simple as that. Stop spending time questioning your abilities as a writer. Just write! Write garbage. Write total trash. Even the worst poem ever written is still 100% better than no poem at all.

 

